Herzlich willkommen!

My Vision:

A world in which

  • people of different cultures work together professionally and empathetically. They develop "their" organisations with passion and flexibility, so that the companies can offer their customers outstanding benefits and achieve sustainable success

  • cosmopolitan organisations are loyal to "their" multicultural members. They support all of them to use their talents to the benefit of the organisation, its customers, employees and partners. Thus, working time is meaningful life time.

My Mission:

We live in a globalised world where each of us is confronted daily with other cultures, and we strive to position our organisations and ourselves in a sustainable way. Against this background, I inspire people and organisations of all kinds to become a preferred partner, supplier and employer through professional handling of multiple cultures and the agile use of systemic management approaches.

My Values

Passion
Loving my topics and inspiring you for them

Passion is the prerequisite for continuing to engage with a person or a thing when it becomes difficult or unpleasant. It helps you not to give up. Only with passion I am able to inspire others for my topics. Passion rocks!

Cosmopolitanism
Exploring fascinating new worlds

Communicating and collaborating with others is particularly challenging if their culture is very different from mine. Cosmopolitanism means getting involved with the foreign and consciously engaging with other people, cultures, approaches and values in an unbiased and curious way. Living systemic approaches such as multi-cultural management and agility implicitly requires me to be cosmopolitan.

Practical relevance
Nothing is more practical than a good theory

Building intellectual edifices can be fascinating. Theories without practical applications, however, do not contribute to the improvement of the actual situation and to the realisation of my vision. Practical relevance means showing opportunities for action and giving recommendations, based on scientifically proven knowledge or ideas deduced therefrom. However, in contrast to pragmatism, practical relevance does not mean a mere orientation towards short-term usefulness, but instead the systematic development and evaluation of conceivable alternatives. The realistic benchmark is always Keynes's test: "It is better to be roughly right than precisely wrong."

Integrity
Clear statements instead of wishy-washy

If I want to give recommendations for action, I must not be afraid of speaking inconvenient truths. Integrity means being able to make honest assessments without prejudice, based on comprehensible findings. It also means bravely expressing the results. At the same time, I am trying to combine my Northern German directness with a high esteem for the people involved. Yet, in case of doubt, a clear statement is more important to me than nebulous diplomacy.

Professionalism
Be challenging, I’m a pro

Professionalism means that in my respective functions I act in accordance with the standards, rules and values that are expected of professionals. As a speaker, professor, scientist or auditor, this means for me acting based on state-of-the-art methods and meeting my customers and partners on equal terms with respect. This includes high quality standards concerning performance and business conduct.

The Facts

I am a professor of International Management and an expert in agile organisational development and multi-cultural management.

For more than 25 years I am holding lectures and seminars in German and English. After studying national economics, I worked in various positions at Dresdner Bank AG for ten years, starting in 1994. During that time, I gained practical experience in e.g. credit risk management, quality management, in-house consulting and internal audit. In 2001, I earned my extra-occupational doctorate. Out of the central integration office of Allianz AG in Munich, I accompanied one of the biggest mergers in the German financial industry. Today, I continue to work as an auditor and assessor around the world to assess organisations and their management systems. My book "Managing Internationalisation", published in 2015, guides practitioners and students through the internationalisation process from a management perspective and specifically addresses how to deal with foreign cultures. The important thing to me as a keynote speaker is to inspire passion and energy for organisational and personal development.

Curriculum Vitae (overview)

More Facets

Patricia Adam

Professor

Since 2004, Dr. Patricia Adam is Professor of "International Management" at the University of Applied Sciences Hannover. She teaches and researches management systems, intercultural competence and agile processes. In addition, she actively participates in the self-government of the university. If you want to know more, you will find it here:

University Website

Lecturer's Portrait (German only)

HAZ Wirtschaftszeitung Interview (German only)

Patricia Adam

Auditor and consultant

Being fascinated by the interaction of creative people and excellent processes, Patricia Adam strives for creating development drive for people and management systems. As an auditor for QM systems at the DQS GmbH and an assessor for the EFQM Excellence Model, she manages worldwide assessment processes and facilitates strategy workshops. Patricia Adam is also Managing Director of a consultancy called Management Beratung Adam (MBA) GmbH. Further information can be found here:

MBA GmbH

DQS GmbH

Fairness-Zertifizierung (German only)

Patricia Adam

Author

Finishing her doctoral thesis on the topic of „Fostering the Service Quality of Banks - Self-Assessment as an Innovative Management Tool“ published by Bankakademie-Verlag in German, Patricia Adam had vowed to herself never to write a book again. In 2015, her textbook "Managing Internationalisation" was published in English by UTB. Since 2018, she edits and contributes papers to the publication series “Management”. Publications of the “Management” series deal with the strategic and operational development of management systems, their business processes and human resources. The focus is on agile management tools and an international orientation. These publications are free for download under create commons.

Textbook Managing Internationalisation

Dissertation

Publication Series "Management"

Herzlich willkommen!

Meine Vision:

Eine Welt, in der

  • Menschen verschiedenster Kulturen professionell und empathisch zusammenarbeiten. Sie entwickeln "ihre" Organisationen mit Leidenschaft flexibel weiter, so dass die Unternehmen ihren Kunden herausragenden Nutzen bieten und nachhaltig erfolgreich sein können.
  • weltoffene Organisationen loyal zu "ihren" multikulturellen Mitgliedern sind und alle darin unterstützen, ihre Talente zum Wohle der Organisation, ihrer Kunden, Mitarbeiter und Partner einzusetzen. So bedeutet Arbeitszeit sinnerfüllte Lebenszeit.

Meine Mission:

Wir leben in einer globalisierten Welt, in der jede(r) von uns täglich mit anderen Kulturen konfrontiert wird und wir uns selbst sowie unsere Organisationen nachhaltig erfolgreich positionieren wollen. Vor diesem Hintergrund begeistere ich Menschen und Organisationen aller Art dafür, durch professionellen Umgang mit multiplen Kulturen und die agile Nutzung systemischer Managementansätze zum präferierten Partner, Lieferanten und Arbeitgeber zu werden.

Meine Werte

Leidenschaft
Meine Themen lieben und Sie dafür begeistern

Leidenschaft ist die Voraussetzung dafür, sich auch dann weiter mit einem Menschen oder einer Sache zu beschäftigen, wenn es schwierig oder unangenehm wird. Sie hilft dabei, nicht aufzugeben. Nur, wenn ich die Entwicklung von Menschen und Managementsystemen mit Leidenschaft betreibe, kann ich auch andere dafür begeistern. Leidenschaft reißt mit!

Weltoffenheit
Faszinierende neue Welten erforschen

Kommunikation und Zusammenarbeit mit anderen ist besonders herausfordernd, wenn deren Kultur sich stark von meiner unterscheidet. Weltoffenheit heißt, sich trotzdem bewusst auf das Fremde einzulassen und sich mit anderen Menschen, Kulturen, Denkansätzen und Werten unvoreingenommen und neugierig auseinanderzusetzen. Nur wenn ich weltoffen bin kann ich systemische Ansätze wie Multikultur-Management und Agilität überzeugend leben.

Praxisnähe
Nichts ist praktischer als eine gute Theorie

Denkgebäude zu errichten kann faszinierend sein. Theorien ohne praktische Anwendbarkeit tragen jedoch nicht zu einer Verbesserung der realen Welt und zur Verwirklichung meiner Vision bei. Praxisnähe bedeutet für mich, auf Basis wissenschaftlich gesicherter Erkenntnisse oder daraus weiter entwickelter Ideen Handlungsmöglichkeiten aufzuzeigen und Empfehlungen zu geben. Praxisnähe bedeutet im Gegensatz zum Pragmatismus allerdings keine reine Orientierung an kurzfristiger Nützlichkeit, sondern die systematische Entwicklung und Bewertung denkbarer Alternativen. Dabei gilt als realistischer Maßstab Keynes' Test: "It is better to be roughly right than precisely wrong."

Integrität
Klare Ansagen statt Wischiwaschi

Wer Handlungsempfehlungen geben will, darf sich nicht scheuen, auch unbequeme Wahrheiten deutlich auszusprechen. Dabei bedeutet Integrität, vorurteilsfrei anhand von nachvollziehbaren Erkenntnissen ehrliche Bewertungen vorzunehmen und mutig zu vertreten. Gleichzeitig bemühe ich mich, meine norddeutsche Direktheit mit einer hohen Wertschätzung für die beteiligten Personen zu verbinden. Im Zweifel geht mir aber eine klare Ansage vor nebulöser Diplomatie.

Professionalität
Seien Sie ruhig anspruchsvoll, ich bin Profi

Professionalität heißt, dass ich in meiner jeweiligen Funktion gemäß den Standards, Spielregeln und Werten agiere, die von "Profis" selbstverständlich erwartet werden. Als Speakerin, Professorin, Wissenschaftlerin oder Auditorin bedeutet das für mich, jeweils auf dem neuesten Stand der Methoden sicher zu agieren und meinen Kunden und Partnern auf Augenhöhe mit Achtung und Respekt zu begegnen. Dies beinhaltet einen hohen Qualitätsanspruch an Leistung und Geschäftsgebaren.

Die Fakten

Ich bin Professorin für International Management und Expertin für agile Organisationsentwicklung und Multikultur-Management.

Seit über 25 Jahren halte ich Vorträge und Seminare in deutscher und englischer Sprache. Nach meinem Studium der Volkswirtschaftslehre und begleitend zu meiner Promotion war ich ab 1994 zehn Jahre lang in der Dresdner Bank AG in verschiedensten Positionen tätig. Dort habe ich u.a. praktische Erfahrungen im Kreditrisikomanagement und Qualitätsmanagement, dem Inhouse Consulting sowie der internen Revision gewonnen. Aus dem zentralen Integrationsbüro der Allianz AG in München heraus habe ich in der Zeit einen der größten Merger der deutschen Finanzbranche begleitet. Heute bin ich weiterhin als Auditorin sowie Assessorin auf der ganzen Welt unterwegs, um Organisationen und deren Managementsysteme zu begutachten. Mein 2015 erschienenes Buch "Managing Internationalisation" begleitet Praktiker und Studierende durch den Internationalisierungsprozess aus Managementperspektive und widmet sich besonders dem Umgang mit fremden Kulturen. Als Keynote-Speaker kommt es mir immer darauf an, Leidenschaft und Energie für die organisationale und persönliche Weiterentwicklung zu wecken.

Lebenslauf in der Übersicht

Weitere Facetten

Patricia Adam

Die Professorin

Seit 2004 ist Dr. Patricia Adam Professorin für "International Management" an der Hochschule Hannover. Sie lehrt und forscht zu Managementsystemen, interkultureller Kompetenz und agilen Prozessen. Außerdem ist sie in der Selbstverwaltung der Hochschule aktiv. Wer mehr dazu wissen möchte, wird hier fündig:

Hochschulwebseite

Dozentenportrait

HAZ Wirtschaftszeitung Interview

Patricia Adam

Die Auditorin und Beraterin

Wen das Zusammenspiel von kreativen Menschen und exzellenten Prozessen fasziniert, der möchte auch praktisch Entwicklungsenergie für Menschen und Managementsysteme freisetzen. Als Auditorin für QM-Systeme sowie Assessorin für das EFQM Excellence Model leitet Patricia Adam weltweit Begutachtungsverfahren und moderiert Strategieworkshops. Sie ist Geschäftsführerin der Management Beratung Adam (MBA) GmbH. Weitere Infos dazu gibt es hier:

MBA GmbH

DQS GmbH

Fairness-Zertifizierung

Patricia Adam

Die Autorin

Nach ihrer 2001 im Bankakademie-Verlag veröffentlichten Dissertation über die Selbstbewertung als innovatives Managementinstrument zur Förderung der Servicequalität von Banken hatte sich Patricia Adam geschworen, nie wieder ein Buch zu schreiben. 2015 kam dann doch ihr englischsprachiges Lehrbuch "Managing Internationalisation" im UTB-Verlag heraus. Seit 2018 gibt Patricia Adam die Schriftenreihe "Management" heraus und trägt eigene Aufsätze dazu bei. Die Reihe enthält Schriften zur strategischen und operativen Entwicklung von Managementsystemen, ihren Geschäftsprozessen und personellen Ressourcen. Im Fokus stehen agile Managementmethoden und eine internationale Ausrichtung. Diese Veröffentlichungen stehen unter Creative Commons-Lizenzen und sind frei zum Download verfügbar.

Schriftenreihe "Management"

Lehrbuch Managing Internationalisation

Dissertation